Please support this forum by joining the SH Patreon ×
Sturgeon's House

Band of Brothers and The Pacific

Both are quasi-historical drama miniseries, both had Stephen Ambrose on as a consultant, and both are beloved by the worst kinds of know-nothing "history buffs" (this isn't to say if you like them, you know nothing, it's just something I've observed).

I have seen neither. How good/bad are they? If they are terrible, can anyone recommend alternatives, especially documentaries/dramadocs of the Pacific Theater?

Pacific had boobs in it.  ;)

Pacific isn't complete trash, nothing really stuck out to me as retarded. I'm not an expert on the Pacific campaign and some of the characters involved though. I haven't seen BoB in so long I don't remember it well enough to comment on it, but RA Forczyk seems to hate it

I like them both, Pacific focused alittle more than bob on the home front, but both are very good

Bob does have an opening credits scene that lasts for a solid 5 minutes, in every episode for some reason

and, how the hell have you now seen Bob/Pacific?

also, i recommend generation kill, its not nearly as action packed, but its along the same lines and a quality show, all 3 are free for amazon prime members

im currently reading bits  of the Pacific book aswell off and on, the thing is massive but well done 

I enjoyed them both, not as serious historical pieces, but from a Memoir-type point of view.  It' has some nitpicky stuff in it that isn't wrong,b ut considering it's based off a memoir type book, take it for what it is. decent production values and some decent storytelling.  Not seriously accurate storytelling. 

Pacific had boobs in it.  ;)

Pacific isn't complete trash, nothing really stuck out to me as retarded. I'm not an expert on the Pacific campaign and some of the characters involved though. I haven't seen BoB in so long I don't remember it well enough to comment on it, but RA Forczyk seems to hate it

Band of Brothers also had boobs in it.