Sturgeon's House
Sign in to follow this  
Sturgeon

Who's Who?

OK, those who have been invited so far are myself, Bronezhilet, Meplat, collimatrix, Alex C., mjmoss, alex_nicolin, Ulric, Hognose, D.E. Watters, and Othais. These are the people I've identified as having a unique interest in small arms, if I missed anyone, please let me know.

Please introduce yourselves, and include a bit about yourselves, and your experience in the field.

Cheers!

I'm not listed, but I guess I'll kick it off. Ninja'd.

I'm a mechanical engineering student from the Netherlands. I've been interested in firearms for a looooong time now, even though I'm just 23. It was a dream come true for me when I got accepted to do a research project for the Dutch Ministry of Defence as a graduation project. Even though the project was a resounding success, I did not graduate. If anyone of you guys hears something about NATO accepting a new standard for quality testing plastic explosives: That's me.

During the project I did ask around a lot about various weapon related things. One of my direct colleagues was a leading external ballistics expert. Very interesting, and I ended up with a bit of knowledge about ballistics. 

Even though over here I'm considered to be knowledgeable, compared to most of you guys I don't know all that much. I mean, I've never even fired a firearm. THANKS, FIREARMS LAWS. At the MoD I was allowed to touch, but not shoot. "We shoot to measure, not to shoot" was their unofficial motto. But still, oogling over all current NATO, and various concept weapons was interesting to say the least. (Sadly their G11 got transferred to a different place before I arrived)

So yeah.