Please support this forum by joining the SH Patreon ×
Sturgeon's House

The Future of Naval Gunfire Support

LostCosmonaut

Amongst some corners of the internet, there is much whinging over the fact that there are no longer any battleships in active military service. Once one discards the more puerile arguments such as "battleships are really cool", the primary argument in favor of their retention is their usefulness in providing artillery support to amphibious landings and other ground operations near coastal areas.

I'm not an expert on naval matters by any means, but it seems to me that naval gunfire from modernized, quick firing 155mm guns would be sufficient - due to the advent of increasingly accurate targeting (and even precision guided artillery rounds), having a 406mm gun is no longer necessary. At the most, something in the range of 203mm should be fine. However, I'm just some random guy on the internet talking out his ass. Do we, in fact, need battleships to fill some gaping void in our force projection capabilities? Or not only is their role wholly obsolete, but it has been so for the past several decades?

I believe the smart money from the cool kids' club was modernized 8" guns that would give some serious range if you absolutely need to make some senators feel happy, or a modernized 5" gun if you want to do it on the cheap.

Battleships are a way to pay a sum of money that could give you major force projection capability and contribute meaningfully to its own defense in a way that its screens couldn't do on something that does none of those things.