Please support this forum by joining the SH Patreon ×
Sturgeon's House

The 'ask a geneticist' thread

Toxn

What it says on the tin: I know stuff about genetics and biotechnology (especially population genetics and crop biotechnology), so feel free to ask me anything about these topics. If there is something I don't know enough about (human genetic disorders, for instance) I will do my best to remedy that issue or tell you so.

I am also a trainee patent lawyer, so you can also ask questions related to Intellectual Property law. I must, however, stress the 'trainee' part.

Fire away, chaps.

Ok, here is an IP scenario that may or may not be based on actual events:

An LLC claims that they own certain IP of an individual who, at the time of creating the IP, owned part of the LLC, but the individual was never compensated for this IP. The individual was also never on the payroll of the company (as in, no W-2). The individual was then removed from ownership of the LLC before the LLC made claims of ownership of the IP.

So, is the LLC's claim of ownership valid?

From my understanding of US patent law (keep in mind the caveats stated in the OP), the rights always vest with the inventor unless ownership has been assigned. However, the law differs somewhat by state (because of your ridiculous and stupid approach to government :P ) and there are things like the 'hired to invent' doctrine to consider.