Please support this forum by joining the SH Patreon ×
Sturgeon's House

The Aircraft Carrier Shitstorm Thread

Sturgeon

Probably the most egregious military reformer (מַּח שְׁמוֹ) belief that I sort-of-kind-of entertain is the idea that aircraft carriers may go the way of the battleship and prove to be too expensive and too vulnerable for the capability that they provide.

Now. OK. Calm down. Honestly, I am not a naval expert and I know it. So this is more of a feeling that I have than a measured assessment that I can give. This is even further softballed by the fact that carriers are a really complex issue, involving things like the political careers of Navy brass, the extensive defenses required to maintain a carrier presence in the face of real opposition, the capabilities that carriers provide, and the nature of future warfare. This all snowballs together into an issue that I really have no hope of assessing at my level of expertise on this topic (which is basically dogshit).

So, instead, I want to put a thread out there and let the folks on this board who actually know what they're talking about hash it out.

This is the aircraft carrier shitstorm thread.

I don't necessarily think you are wrong, but I think it's going to wait until we're done with manned fighter aircraft.  I thinking that within 15-20 years we might be looking at the end of the carrier as the chosen method of power projection.  With stuff like IRST, Lo probability intercept radar, Laser proliferation,  and rail guns becoming a thing, that  may make manned aircraft in contested airspace a thing of the past. The a carrier becomes significantly less useful.

It is not that carriers rendered battleships obsolete, it is that carrier aircraft rendered 16" (and similar) guns obsolete.

So I agree with Belesarius, the relevance of carriers is tied to the relevance of their aircraft.